Blogger Recognition Award

It happened again. We have been nominated for an award. Based on my limited knowledge of the blagoblag,

Blagoblag
Totally acceptable according to this chart. Nothing wrong!

these awards travel in packs, so I will not be nominating anyone to try and break this chain. Thank you anyway to The Nexus, for nominating me. As mutual followers who post similar stuff (them about the existent, and me about the nonexistent), it was inevitable for us to both receive it if the other did. Anyway, let’s get on with it!

award

History

I was the informal webmaster of my robotics team’s website, which used software from WordPress.org. Since it was the most powerful platform I had seen before, I was interested in having my own website using that technology. I eventually decided a blog about physically impossible things would be interesting enough to both write about, and for others to read. I registered outlawofphysics.wordpress.com and decided the most obvious thing to write about would be traveling faster than light, hence my first post. Since then, I’ve tried to post simple 300 word posts. I got nominated for the Liebster Award by soyoungsocurious, then of course this one. Now we’re all caught up to speed.

 

Advice

  • Be consistent. Don’t write about whatever you feel like if you want to gain followers and consistent visitors. Pick a topic and stick with it.
  • Image yourself. Pick a cool theme. Choose a cool name. This is more important than it seems. It will make people connect to your blog.
  • SEO. That stands for search engine optimization. It used to be more simple, but Google algorithms have improved so much, the best thing to do is write for people (not search engines) in mind. Also, include images, a few tags, outbound links (not to your site) and at least 300 words.
  • WordPress isn’t life. Writing posts isn’t your job (if it is, you should be using the software from WordPress.org), so don’t obsess over it. Write less often if it’s taking too much time.
  • Engage. Start visiting others’ blogs.  Maybe you’ll like them, but most importantly, the act of being there increases the likelihood of them being recommended to you.

 

Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Attach the award to your post.
  • Write a brief story / history of your blog.
  • A take down of advice to new bloggers.
  • Nominate 10 other bloggers.
  • Comment on their blogs to notify them of the nomination.

These aren’t very useful since I didn’t nominate anyone.

 

That’s all folks. Thanks again to The Nexus, I really appreciate it. If you like my stuff, you’ll like their stuff.

Leave a Comment

